Message de la directrice

Message de la directrice – 11 janvier 2023

Bonne année! J’espère que vous avez tous passé une période des fêtes reposante et que le retour au travail s’est fait en douceur. Janvier est une période de réflexion, de renouveau et de croissance. Sur le plan personnel, j’ai retrouvé deux passions qui ne figuraient plus sur ma liste de priorités, soit apprendre l’espagnol et m’adonner à la course à pied. Cela fait du bien de prendre le temps de nourrir ma propre croissance personnelle.

À l’AMAC, nous avons amorcé l’année en accueillant deux nouveaux membres du personnel. Tom Lindsay s’est joint à nous en tant que nouveau gestionnaire des services aux membres et du mentorat et Kayla Knelsen a accepté d’occuper le nouveau rôle de coordonnatrice de l’administration et des finances. Vous aurez l’occasion de les rencontrer tous les deux lors de notre rassemblement annuel de mentorat et de notre AGA, qui se tiendra à Winnipeg du 6 au 9 juillet 2023. Veuillez l’inscrire à votre calendrier.

Nous sommes très heureux d’avoir l’occasion de nous réunir à Akwesasne pour une retraite de perfectionnement des membres du conseil d’administration et du personnel de l’AMAC ce mois-ci. La Dre Ojistoh Horn, membre du conseil d’administration, nous souhaitera la bienvenue dans sa clinique et sa communauté où nous aborderons, réviserons et élaborerons le plan stratégique 2022-2025 de l’AMAC, en plus d’intégrer les principes du bien-être et de la joie au travail pendant le temps passé ensemble. Le conseil d’administration sera également invité à la station de radio locale afin d’intéresser les jeunes à une carrière dans les soins de santé.

Le nouveau comité « Bulletin des facultés de médecine relatif aux appels à l’action 23 et 24 de la CVR » a travaillé d’arrache-pied pour préparer et diffuser les résultats du sondage de 2021. Il enverra du même coup le sondage de 2022 à la fin janvier. Le sondage fournit aux facultés de médecine des commentaires sur la façon dont les étudiants estiment que les écoles répondent aux appels à l’action 23 et 24 de la CVR, ainsi que des suggestions concrètes fondées sur la rétroaction des étudiants. Veuillez jeter un coup d’œil à votre boîte de réception de courriels et à vos médias sociaux et assurez-vous de répondre au sondage si vous êtes étudiant.

Je vous souhaite à tous une bonne santé, du bonheur et du succès tant sur le plan personnel que professionnel.

Kinanaskomitine,

Melanie Osmack, directrice par intérim

Message de la directrice – 12 octobre 2022

Bienvenue à notre bulletin d’automne de l’AMAC. J’espère que vous avez tous eu le temps de vous détendre et de vous ressourcer pendant les mois d’été. J’ai eu le plaisir de retourner à Terre-Neuve et de faire de la randonnée sur ses côtes époustouflantes. C’est un endroit tellement magique.

Comme tout le monde peut l’imaginer, la quantité de planification et de préparation menant à l’événement PRIDoC a été immense et son élan s’est poursuivi jusqu’au dernier jour de notre rassemblement. Depuis, le conseil d’administration et le personnel de l’AMAC ont été en mesure de transmettre à la fois le savoir d’un travail bien fait et ses moments précieux grâce à une transition vers la mission et le mandat de l’AMAC, c’est-à-dire en offrant un soutien aux médecins et étudiants autochtones en médecine et en aidant à améliorer la santé de nos communautés et peuples autochtones dans leur ensemble.

Après plusieurs années de service, nous avons remercié les membres sortants du conseil d’administration, la Dre Nel Wieman, le Dr Evan Adams, la Dre Sarah Funnell et Josha Rafael, pour leurs contributions infinies à l’AMAC. Bienvenue à nos membres du conseil d’administration 2022-2023, la Dre Mandy Buss, le Dr Mike Dumont, la Dre Alexa Lesperance, la Dre Rebekah Eatmon, la Dre Ojistoh Horn, la Dre Randi George et l’étudiante en médecine Laney Beaulieu. Vous pouvez faire leur connaissance ici. Je suis honorée de servir et de soutenir un groupe aussi exceptionnel de leaders autochtones dans le domaine médical.

En septembre, nos rencontres de mentorat en personne ont été lancées avec succès. Notre premier événement a eu lieu à l’Université du Manitoba et a coïncidé avec la fin de semaine de planification stratégique de l’Association des étudiants en médecine autochtones du Canada (AEMAC). C’était agréable de voir notre famille manitobaine ainsi que les membres du cercle de l’AEMAC. Nous avons eu l’honneur d’écouter et d’apprendre. Au cours du mois de septembre, nous avons continué d’organiser des événements dans les facultés de médecine de l’Ontario et de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Notre gestionnaire des services aux membres et du mentorat, Sara Ayaruak-Thomson, visitera les facultés de médecine de l’Alberta et de la Saskatchewan en octobre et nous prévoyons organiser un événement pour l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique coïncidant avec son rassemblement annuel du Réseau des médecins autochtones du printemps.

Notre groupe de travail du Consortium national pour la formation médicale en santé autochtone (CNFMSA) sur le bien-être des médecins et le plaisir au travail continue de faire de grands progrès dans son travail et s’est réuni en personne lors de l’événement PRIDoC. La gestionnaire de l’administration de l’AMAC, Ariel John, s’est jointe au groupe de travail et agit à titre de gestionnaire de projet. En raison de notre changement de leadership, le Dr Mike Dumont présidera ce groupe de travail et la Dre Mandy Buss assumera la présidence du groupe de travail sur le racisme envers les Autochtones.

Cet automne, j’ai pu reprendre mon rôle, représentant l’AMAC dans notre travail visant à mettre fin au racisme anti-autochtone dans les systèmes d’éducation médicale et de soins de santé au Canada. En tant que membre du cercle consultatif sur la lutte contre le racisme de la Direction générale de la santé des Premières Nations et des Inuits (DGSPNI), je fais partie d’une équipe de défenseurs dévoués d’organismes de santé autochtones comme l’Association des infirmières et infirmiers autochtones du Canada (AIIAC) et l’Association dentaire autochtone du Canada (ACDI). Nous sommes plus forts ensemble.

En terminant, j’aimerais prendre un moment pour rendre hommage à la vie et au décès de Joyce Echaquan. Le 28 septembre marque le deuxième anniversaire du jour tragique de la mort de Joyce alors qu’elle subissait des insultes racistes de la part de travailleurs de la santé qui étaient censés prendre soin d’elle. Puissions-nous nous souvenir de Joyce et de sa famille alors que nous travaillons à mettre fin au racisme envers les Autochtones dans les systèmes de santé du Canada.

Kinanaskomitine,

Melanie Osmack, directrice par intérim

Message de la présidente et de la directrice – 16 mars 2022

Bozhoo! Tan’si! Salutations de l’AMAC!

Au nom de notre conseil d’administration et de notre personnel, nous espérons que vous trouvez tous du temps pour la joie et le repos. Le présent bulletin trimestriel porte sur la croissance, qui a touché l’AMAC pendant une grande partie de la dernière année. Ce fut une période trépidante et passionnante pour servir l’AMAC et nous aimerions vous communiquer certains points saillants.

Nous avons accueilli deux nouveaux membres du conseil d’administration, le Dr Mike Dumont et l’étudiant de l’Université McMaster Josha Quinn. Ils sont tous deux membres fondateurs de notre Comité des champions, un groupe voué à soutenir nos collègues et à souligner leur travail extraordinaire. Depuis sa création à l’automne 2020, nous avons vu des candidats autochtones en lice, notamment pour des prix de l’Association médicale canadienne et du Temple de la renommée médicale canadienne et des prix RDoc.

Notre effectif est passé à 341 membres actifs, en grande partie grâce à notre gestionnaire des services aux membres et du mentorat, Sara Ayaruak-Thomson. Depuis qu’elle s’est jointe à nous en novembre, elle a renforcé les liens avec les facultés de médecine et les a encouragées à couvrir les frais des membres étudiants de l’AMAC dans le cadre de leur parcours vers la réconciliation. Sara a créé et mis en œuvre notre Cercle de mentorat; plus de 50 participants tirent le meilleur parti de ce portail personnalisé. Elle a également organisé et animé plusieurs événements en ligne en lien avec l’adhésion et le mentorat et a fait partie intégrante de la planification de l’événement PRIDoC, où vous aurez la chance de la rencontrer en personne.

Notre capacité en tant qu’organisation a également considérablement augmenté. En quatre mois seulement, notre coordonnatrice de l’administration, Ariel John, a mis sur pied et amélioré nos procédures et systèmes administratifs, ce qui nous a permis de consacrer plus de temps et d’énergie aux priorités stratégiques de l’AMAC. Ariel épaule le conseil d’administration et le personnel de l’AMAC, allant souvent au-delà des attentes, pour nous garder organisés et sur la bonne voie. Comme elle est excellente pour résoudre des problèmes, elle est rapidement devenue un élément inestimable de l’équipe de l’AMAC. Ariel a été responsable de tout ce qui concerne l’accréditation pour l’événement PRIDoC et vous aurez l’occasion de la remercier en personne pour vos DPC en juillet à PRIDoC 2022.

Dans le cadre de notre partenariat avec le Consortium national pour la formation médicale en santé autochtone (CNFMSA), nous avons mis sur pied un groupe de travail axé sur le bien-être des médecins et le plaisir au travail. Nous avons collaboré à l’élaboration d’un cadre provisoire pour définir le bien-être et la joie de travailler des médecins dans le but ultime de créer des outils pour soutenir les médecins autochtones. L’exécutif et les groupes de travail du CNFMSA tiendront leur première réunion en personne le 22 avril, conjointement avec la Conférence canadienne sur l’éducation médicale (CCME).

Nos relations avec les partenaires et les intervenants se sont également développées. En 2021, l’AMAC est devenue membre du Forum médical canadien, qui réunit les dirigeants des principales organisations médicales nationales du Canada pour discuter de questions prioritaires touchant les médecins, leurs patients et le système de soins de santé canadien. Nous avons reçu une subvention de 1 million de dollars de la Fondation médicale canadienne pour accroître la capacité et créer le programme de mentorat de l’AMAC. Nous avons également conclu une entente de financement avec Gestion financière MD qui appuiera nos futurs rassemblements annuels et nos AGA ainsi que les déplacements des étudiants participant à l’événement PRIDoC 2022.

À l’approche du Congrès des médecins autochtones de la région du Pacifique (PRIDoC) 2022, notre personnel, notre conseil d’administration et les membres bénévoles de notre sous-comité ont travaillé d’arrache-pied pour vous accueillir en partenariat avec nos nations hôtes – les Premières Nations des Musqueam, des Squamish et des Tsleil-Waututh. Nous avons hâte de tisser des liens en personne, d’apprendre les uns des autres et de célébrer nos cultures. Les inscriptions sont ouvertes!

Chi-Miigwetch, Kinanaskomitin,

Merci,

Dre Cornelia Wieman, présidente
Melanie Osmack, directrice par intérim

Feeling the indigenous urge to bring moosemeat to your family?
Do that symbolically via bringing guidance to some mentees instead 😎
#IPAC #Indigenous #Doctors #Mentor #Mentee #Family
Visit https://fafm.cfpc.ca/awards/
Scroll down to 'Medical Students'
Select "CFPC Indigenous Medical Student Scholarship"
Note: Applicants must be in their second-last year of study.
Our stories - our medicine. 
In response to feedback from our 2023 gathering, we are including a panel where Indigiqueer and 2S members can share their stories in medicine. Medical students, residents and physicians welcome! Please contact rochelle.mathieu@ipacamic.ca to show your interest.
 #indigiqueer #2S #IPAC2024
Registration links
- West-Friendly https://loom.ly/Fff46H8
- East-Friendly https://loom.ly/3KsKbWQ

What will you need to participate?
- 2 devices connected to the internet--1 for the zoom call and 1 to input your answers, ie. a laptop and a cell phone, etc.
- The game is played in a browser via Triviamaker, so there’s no app to download.

If you’d like to know more about mentorship opportunities check out our online Mentorship Circle, or message Tom at tom.lindsay@ipacamic.ca
Feeling overwhelmed? Having a mentor could help.
Plan ahead of exams, deadlines, and all the time crunches of the semester. Find your own mentor today 💛
#IPAC #Indigenous #Doctors #Mentor #Mentee #Family
Registration links
- West-Friendly https://loom.ly/Fff46H8
- East-Friendly https://loom.ly/3KsKbWQ

What will you need to participate?
- 2 devices connected to the internet--1 for the zoom call and 1 to input your answers, ie. a laptop and a cell phone, etc.
- The game is played in a browser via Triviamaker, so there’s no app to download.

If you’d like to know more about mentorship opportunities check out our online Mentorship Circle, or message Tom at tom.lindsay@ipacamic.ca
USask, March 4, 11:30am-1:30pm
More info: https://app.glueup.com/event/saskatoon-sk-indigenous-medical-learner-physician-mentorship-gathering-94472/

UCalgary, March 7, 5:30pm-8:00pm
https://app.glueup.com/event/calgary-ab-indigenous-medical-learner-physician-mentorship-gathering-94549/
www.ipacamic.ca
Facebook: @IPACIndigenousPhysiciansAssociationCanada
Instagram: @IPACIndigenousPhysiciansCanada
X: @IPACIndigenous
Sharing for the Canadian Association of Emergency Physicians' Antiracism Anticolonialism Committee:

"Join the "Images in Emergency Medicine Competition" and help us celebrate diversity, representation, and inclusivity in healthcare education!  Submit your best images showcasing the incredible diversity of healthcare providers and patients in Canada. 

🏆 The top submissions will be featured at the CAEP24 conference in Saskatoon, and the winning image will grace the cover of an issue of Canadian Journal of Emergency Medicine!

Don't miss out! Deadline: April 2, 2024 ⏰"

Message from the Director

Message from the Director – January 11, 2023

Happy new year! I hope you all had a restful holiday season and a gentle return to work. January is a time for reflection, renewal, and growth. On a personal level, I’ve returned to two passions that had fallen off my priority list, learning Spanish and running. It feels good to make time to nurture my own personal growth.

Here at IPAC we started this year by welcoming two new staff members. Tom Lindsay has joined us as our new Membership and Mentorship manager and Kayla Knelsen has joined us in a new IPAC role as our Finance and Administration Coordinator. You’ll have the opportunity to meet them both at our Annual Mentorship Gathering and AGM in Winnipeg July 6-9, 2023. Please save the date.

We are very excited to have the opportunity to gather in Akwesasne for an IPAC Board and Staff development retreat this month. Our board member Dr. Ojistoh Horn is welcoming us to her clinic and her community where we will discuss, revise, and construct IPAC’s Strategic Plan for 2022-2025, as well as integrate the principles of wellness and joy in work during our time together. The board will also have the opportunity to be guests on the local radio station, inspiring youth to consider a career in healthcare.

The new ‘TRC Calls to Action 23 and 24 Medical School Report Card’ committee has been working hard to prepare and share the 2021 survey results and will be sending the 2022 survey out at the same time late January. The survey provides medical schools with feedback on how well the students feel the schools are responding to the TRC Calls to Action 23 and 24 as well as concrete suggestions based on student input. Please keep an eye on your inbox and social media and be sure to complete the survey if you are a student.

I wish you all good health, happiness and success both personally and professionally.

Kinanaskomitin,

Melanie Osmack, Acting Director

Message from the Director – October 12, 2022

Welcome to our IPAC Fall Newsletter. I hope you all had some time to relax and reconnect over the summer months. I had the pleasure of returning to Newfoundland and hiking the breathtaking coastlines. It’s such a magical place.

As everyone can imagine, the amount of planning and preparation leading up to PRIDoC was immense and its momentum carried through until the last day of our gathering. IPAC’s Board and Staff have since been able to carry both the knowledge of a job well done and its valued moments through a transition back to IPAC’s mission and mandate – the support of our Indigenous physicians and medical learners as well as our responsibility to help improve the health of our Indigenous communities and peoples as a whole.

After several years of service, we thanked outgoing board members Dr Nel Wieman, Dr Evan Adams, Dr Sarah Funnell and Josha Rafael for their endless contributions to IPAC. A warm welcome and welcome back to our 2022/23 board members Dr Mandy Buss, Dr Mike Dumont, Dr Alexa Lesperance, Dr Rebekah Eatmon, Dr Ojistoh Horn, Dr Randi George, and medical student Laney Beaulieu. You can get to know them all here. I am honoured to serve and support such an exceptional group of Indigenous medical leaders.

This September saw the successful launch of our in-person IPAC Mentorship Gatherings. Our first event was at the University of Manitoba and coincided with the Indigenous Medical Student Association of Canada (IMSAC) strategic planning weekend. It was lovely to see our Manitoba family as well as the IMSAC circle members. We were honoured to listen and learn. During the month of September we continued to bring events to medical schools in Ontario and Nova Scotia. Our Membership and Mentorship Manager, Sara Ayaruak-Thomson, will be visiting the medical schools in Alberta and Saskatchewan in October and we plan to host an event for UBC coinciding with their annual spring Indigenous Physicians Network Gathering.

Our National Consortium for Indigenous Medical Education (NCIME) Working Group on Physician Wellness and Joy in Work continues to make great strides in their work and met in person at PRIDoC. Our IPAC Administrative Manager, Ariel John, has joined the working group and is serving as project manager. With our change in leadership, Dr Mike Dumont will now serve as Chair of this working group and Dr Mandy Buss as chair of the working group in Anti-Indigenous Racism.

This fall I have been able to return to my role, representing IPAC in our work to end anti-Indigenous racism in medical education and healthcare systems in Canada. As a member of the First Nations and Inuit Health Branch (FNIHB) Anti-Racism Advisory circle, I am part of a team of dedicated advocates from Indigneous health organizations like The Canadian Indigenous Nurses Association (CINA) and the Indigenous Dental Association of Canada (IDAC). We are stronger together.

In closing, I want to take a moment to recognize and honour the life and death of Joyce Echaquan. September 28 marks the second anniversary of the tragic day that Joyce died while enduring racists slurs by healthcare workers who were supposed to be caring for her. May we remember Joyce and her family as we work to end anti-Indigenous racism in Canada’s healthcare systems.

Kinanaskomitin,

Melanie Osmack, Acting Director

Message from the President and Director – March 16, 2022

Bozhoo! Tan’si! Greetings from IPAC,

On behalf of our Board of Directors and staff, we hope you are all finding time for joy and rest. The theme of this quarter’s newsletter is growth, something IPAC has experienced much of over the past year. It’s been a fast-paced and exciting time to serve IPAC and we would like to share some of our highlights.

We welcomed two new board members, Dr. Mike Dumont and McMaster student Josha Quinn, both of whom are founding members of our Champions Committee – a group dedicated to lifting up and celebrating our colleagues for their amazing work. Since its’ inception in the fall of 2020, we have seen successful Indigenous nominees for the CMA awards, The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame, the RDoC awards and more.

Our membership grew to 341 active members, largely in part to our Membership and Mentorship Manager, Sara Ayaruak-Thomson. Since joining us in November they have been fostering relationships with medical schools and encouraging them to sponsor IPAC student member fees as part of their reconciliation journey. Sara has created and rolled out our Mentorship Circle, which already has over 50 registrants whom are making the most of this personalized portal. They have also organized and hosted several membership and mentorship events online and have been integral to the planning of PRIDoC, where you’ll have the chance to meet Sara in person.

Our capacity as an organization has also grown significantly. In four short months, our Administrative Coordinator, Ariel John, has created and improved our administrative procedures and systems, allowing us more time and energy to focus on IPAC’s strategic priorities. Ariel supports the IPAC board and staff, often going above and beyond, in keeping us organized and on track. An excellent problem solver, she has quickly become an invaluable part of the IPAC team. Ariel has been the lead on all things accreditation for PRIDoC and you’ll have the opportunity to thank her in person for your CPDs this July at PRIDoC 2022.

Through our partnership with the National Consortium for Medical Education (NCIME), we launched our working group on Physician Wellness and Joy in Work. We have been collaborating on a draft framework to define physician wellness and joy in work with the ultimate goal of creating tools to support Indigenous physicians. The NCIME executive and working groups will have their first in-person meeting April 22, in conjunction with the Canadian College in Medical Education (CCME).

Our relationships with partners and stakeholders have grown as well. In 2021, IPAC became a member of the Canadian Medical Forum which brings together leaders of Canada’s major national medical organizations to discuss issues of priority to physicians, their patients, and the Canadian health care system. We received a $1 million grant from the Canadian Medical Foundation to increase capacity and create the IPAC mentorship program. We also entered into a funding agreement with MD Financial which will support our future annual gatherings and AGMs as well as student travel to PRIDoC 2022.

With the Pacific Regional Indigenous Doctors Congress (PRIDoC) 2022 around the corner, our staff, board, and volunteer subcommittee members have been hard at work preparing to welcome you in partnership with our host nations – the Musqueam, Squamish and Tsleil-Waututh First Nations. We cannot wait to connect in-person, learn from each other and celebrate our cultures. Registration is open!

Chi-Miigwetch, Kinanaskomitin,

Thank you,

Dr. Cornelia Wieman, President
Melanie Osmack, Acting Director

Feeling overwhelmed? Having a mentor could help.
Plan ahead of exams, deadlines, and all the time crunches of the semester. Find your own mentor today 💛
#IPAC #Indigenous #Doctors #Mentor #Mentee #Family
🌟 Friendly Reminder.  Just a quick heads up that IPAC will be closed this coming Monday, May 20th. But don't worry, we'll be back in action bright and early on Tuesday!  Wishing you all a fantastic long weekend ahead! ☀️
 #LongWeekendVibes #MayLongWeekend
"No one left behind: equality, freedom, and justice for all"! 🌈 May 17th marks the International Day Against Homophobia, Transphobia, and Biphobia—a day to reaffirm our commitment to equality, acceptance, and love for all. Together, we can create a world where everyone feels safe, valued, and free to be their authentic selves. 🌍
Join the movement at @may17org
#IDAHOTB  #IDAHOTB2024  #IDAHOBIT2024
📢 There's a buzz going around—admission letters have been sent to the newest cohort of medical students! Congratulations to these #FutureDoctors. IPAC officially congratulates you! Welcome to the future of healthcare! #MedSchoolBound #IPACSupport #MedicalEducation 🎉
Have you checked out IPAC's latest quarterly newsletter yet? 📰 It's packed with updates, insights, and important information about our initiatives, membership activities and events. Don't miss out on staying in the loop! 👇 https://loom.ly/MjVcsmM #IPACNewsletter #StayInformed #CommunityUpdates
👩‍⚕️👨‍⚕️ Calling all physicians, residents, and medical students! Dive into the Physician Health Inclusion community on @cma_docs Community. Together, let's shape a healthcare landscape that's more accessible and inclusive for all. No CMA membership required. Click here to join the conversation and take action: https://loom.ly/Y30lHVk
#PhysicianHealthInclusion #HealthcareForAll 🌟
There are over 60 mentors available to take you under their wing
Check it out now
Skoden
🦅
📣 Calling all attendees of IPAC's Annual Mentorship Gathering & AGM! Get ready to stand out with our exclusive t-shirt featuring the theme "Our Stories. Our Medicine" front and centre!
On sale until June 7th, available for pickup at the event. Don't miss this chance to grab yours! Sizes range from small to 3XL (Classic unisex fit).
Link to purchase: https://loom.ly/wdYZQts
Register for Annual Gathering: https://loom.ly/mr4RV_k
Join us for #MentalHealthWeek, May 6-12, and answer the "Call to Be Kind"!🌟 This year, @cmhanational reminds us about the healing power of compassion. Let's explore how kindness and empathy can make a difference in our world. Together, let's spread compassion and support. 💙 #CompassionConnects #CompassionHeals #kindnessmatters
May 5 is the National Day of Awareness for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, Girls, and Two-Spirit people (MMIWG2S) in Canada, also known as Red Dress Day. Originating as an artistic response, red dresses symbolize the tragedy of over 1000 missing and murdered Indigenous individuals.  Please note: The day can be triggering for those affected by MMWIG2S+ loss. You can connect with the MMWIG2S+ support call line at 1-844-413-6649. This line is available free of charge, 24/7.  Since 1974, @nwac_canada has advocated for Indigenous women, girls, and gender-diverse people. We extend our deepest gratitude to NWAC for bringing #MMIWG2S to light!  #RedDressDay  #IndigenousRights  #justiceforMMIWG2S
🚨 Last Call! IPAC Awards nominations due May 3rd, Midnight PDT! Don't miss your chance to honour Indigenous healthcare contributions.
More details and nomination forms found here: https://loom.ly/xsa77UU
🏆 #IPACAwards #IndigenousHealthcare 🌟